chronicwnderlst

A place to indulge an affliction

Darwin Award Honorable Mention

4 Comments

I repurposed this 02:55 clip from Charlie Chaplin’s 1928 film “The Circus” to create an anachronistic story about a mime who missed the ultimate Darwin Awards top prize. The criterion for the Darwin Awards follows:

“In the spirit of Charles Darwin, the Darwin Awards commemorate individuals who protect our gene pool by making the ultimate sacrifice of their own lives. Darwin Award winners eliminate themselves in an extraordinarily idiotic manner, thereby improving our species’ chances of long-term survival.”

Darwin Awards Honorable Mentions recognize individuals who survive their misadventures with their reproductive capacity intact.

I used the recommended site to download Charlie Chaplin’s The Circus from YouTube.

One of the challenges of this assignment was finding the appropriate foley for each segment of the clip. My method was to turn down the volume on the Chaplin video clip and then listen on SoundCloud to each of the submitted assignments to see if it married well with the segment.  To find the submitted assignments, I followed the tags listed on the Week 6 & 7 page. However, I found  that some of the SoundCloud submissions were not set to be downloaded. I found the fourth segment, 01:31 – 02:00 to be particularly challenging, as some of the submissions either did not have any sound or were not set to be downloaded.  I also discovered that while I had tagged my WordPress assignment submission, I didn’t apply the correct tag to the SoundCloud file, so that when it came to the fifth segment, I did not see my assignment listed. I immediately applied the correct tag (chaplin-lion-05), so it now shows and can be downloaded.

I saved each downloaded audio file with the segment in the file name (e.g., 0000-0030.mp3)

00:00-00:30 from klasalata

00:31 – 01:00 from mbutlerr

01:01 – 01:30 from dylangott1

01:31 – 02:00 from cbedross1

02:01 – 02:30 from cwyrough

02:31 – 02:55 from Kaitlyn Crotty

I used The Tokens’sThe Lion Sleeps Tonight” as the main soundtrack, which I downloaded from MP3Skull.  Because the entire song was shorter than the video clip, I supplemented it with several  trumpet audio files that I downloaded from FreeSound.  This was a good review exercise for using Audacity and working with the timeline and layers. Below is my Audacity screenshot:

Image

The foley does not match up perfectly with each segment, but given that this is the first time I’ve used this application, I am satisfied with the results.

After finalizing the Audacity project as an mp3 file, I added it to the Windows Live Movie Maker project. I then added captions in select areas of the video clip. Below is a screenshot of the Movie Maker project:

Windows Live Movie Maker  screenshot

Windows Live Movie Maker screenshot

In keeping with the travel theme of this blog, here is a slideshow of my own Darwin Award-worthy lion encounter in southern Africa in 2011:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Darwin Award Honorable Mention

  1. I was glad to see that we both took roughly the same approach to this assignment–I definitely had some trial and error with the sound (Audacity) and the video (MovieMaker).

  2. This is one of the most original re-interpretations of the scene I have seen a student produce. It was a great idea that you saw through from start to end, and managed to get beyond the limits of available clips.

  3. Pingback: Week 6 and 7 Summary | chronicwnderlst

  4. Pingback: When the course is over… - CogDogBlog

Leave a Reply

