chronicwnderlst

A place to indulge an affliction

Five Foto Fun

3 Comments


Five Card Story: Tricked!

a Five Card Flickr story created by chronicwnderlst


flickr photo by Serenae


flickr photo by cogdogblog


flickr photo by Serenae


flickr photo by cogdogblog


flickr photo by dwtno

The aloe vera helped with the sunburn, but did nothing to soothe my wounded pride. Kokopelli, the trickster god, won this round. He lured me to the outdoors, using a tame sunrise to promise a mild day. But the sun shone angrily soon after and I was left burnt without the protection of a cloudy sky.


What a fun project this was! I initially read a few of the stories posted to the Five Card Story Gallery to get an idea of how people crafted their stories using the five random photos. Then, I played around with a few sets of five random photos. The most important thing in developing my story was choosing the first photograph. If none of the first initial five photographs spoke to me, I abandoned the “deck” right away. I depended on the first photograph to inspire me into weaving a story with the subsequent photos. I used the first word that came to mind after selecting that first photograph to set the theme for the story. It was fairly easy to create connections between the photographs. I did a bit of research to validate what I knew of Kokopelli.

The story spine is as follows:
There once was a girl who enjoyed sunshine. Every day, she relied on the god Kokopelli to give her a weather sign. But one day, she misjudged Kokopelli’s message based on the sunrise. Because of that, she went outside without any sun protection. Because of that, she got sunburned. Because of that, she had to use aloe vera to soothe the sunburn. And, ever since then, she never went outside unless it was a sunny, cloudy day.

3 thoughts on “Five Foto Fun

  1. Fantastic! I enjoyed reading your strategy of finding that first photo; to me it is the last on that is always critical as it must seal the story.

    I find that most of the efforts are mere descriptive captions, so what you have done here to introduce a character who follows the spine works well to make it a story. I am really pleased to see how well you are putting that to use.

    And I have a funny story about that giant Kokopelli as I found the story I always used with it was rather wrong. But that is the fun of making up stories, we can make anything happen, as long as it is interesting. And I had a hard time remembering where I took the photo of the bathtub (it was in iceland).

    Great work!

    • I am surprised to learn that the bathtub photo was taken in Iceland! I saw it as a barren, desert-y landscape. Granted, I only spent less than 48 hours in Iceland (Reykjavik and Keflavik) in May, so I would never have associated that photo’s landscape with Iceland.
      I thought the random photos I was dealt all had a Southwestern feel to them. I glad I did not find out until now where the bathtub photo was taken, or the story I made up would have taken a different turn 🙂 Thanks for your comments!

  2. Pingback: Week 3 Summary | chronicwnderlst

Leave a Reply

